Inclusion

Sport Inclusion

Basketball Ireland is proud to have signed the Cara Sport Inclusion Disability Charter.

This is a major step forward for Basketball Ireland in terms of disability sport as the commitment means that Basketball Ireland will work with CARA in developing its policies around addressing the five areas of the CARA Charter.

Sport and physical activity are central to the fabric of life in Ireland. The Charter outlines five key areas that people with disabilities are asking organisations to consider in making active and healthy lifestyles possible for them. BI encourages all clubs throughout Ireland to commit to the CARA charter and work on addressing the five areas of the charter within their own clubs to make basketball a more inclusive sport for all. 

Follow the link below to sign up and be sure to email us to let us know you have signed at inclusion@basketballireland.ie 

https://caracentre.ie/sport-inclusion-disability-charter/ 

Find Inclusion Basketball

If you are interested in playing basketball and cannot find a Basketball club in your area that can support your needs, please take a look at the information below as a starting point.

Irish Wheelchair Association - Venues/Clubs

Antrim Forum, 20 Lough Road, Antrim, Co. Antrim, niknights@iwasport.com  
Ursuline Convent, Blackrock Road, Blackrock, Cork, RebelWheelers@iwasport.com  
DLR Leisure Loughlinstown, Loughlinstown, Dublin, BallybrackBullsWBC@iwasport.com 
IWA-Sport, Blackheath Drive, Clontarf, Dublin 3, KillesterTigers@iwasport.com 
St. Mary's College, St. Mary's Road, Galway, Co. Galway, titansgalway@iwasport.com 
John Mitchels GAA Club, N22 Camp, Tralee, Co. Kerry, KingdomWheelblasters@iwasport.com 
St. Kieran's College, College Road, Kilkenny, Co. Kilkenny, SouthEastSwiftsWBC@iwasport.com 
Clonaslee Community Centre, Bellair, Clonaslee, Co. Laois: ClonasleeWBC@iwasport.com 
Dundalk Sports Centre, Muirhevnamore, Dundalk, Co. Louth: NorthEastThunderWBC@iwasport.com 
Thomond Community College, Doneen Road, Woodview Park, Co. Limerick: LimerickScorpionsWBC@iwasport.com 

Local Sports Inclusion Disability Officers

Connaught

Mayo: 
Ray McNamara - 087 697 3093 - rmcnamara@mayococo.ie 
Sligo: Shane Hayes - 071 916 1511 - shane@sligosportandrecreation.ie 
Roscommon: Elaine Igoe - 090 663 0853 - elaine@rosactive.org  
Leitrim: Michelle Maguire - 071 965 0498 - mfanning@leitrimcoco.ie 
Galway: Jason Craughwell - 091 536 459 - Jason.craughwell@galwaycity.ie  
Carlow: Teresa O'Meara - 087 902 5567 - tomeara@carlowcoco.ie  


Leinster

DLR: Brian O'Donnell - 01 271 9506 - bodonnell@dlrcoco.ie  
Dublin City: Nuala O'Donovan - 087 066 6254 - nuala.odonovan@dublincity.ie  
Dublin City: Lisa Kelly - 087 114 7721 - lisa.kelly@dublincity.ie 
Fingal: David Daly - 086 240 1913 - david.daly@fcrs.ie
Kildare: Padriag Healy - 087 258 9493 - pshealy@kildarecoco.ie 
Kilkenny: Nicola Keeshan - 056 772 0870 - nicola@krsp.ie  
Laois: Caitriona Slattery - 057 867 1248 - cslattery@laoissports.ie 
Longford: Orla Dempsey - 043 334 3495 - odempsey@longfordcoco.ie 
Louth: Triona Faapito - 042 932 4299 - triona.faapito@louthcoco.ie 
Meath: Terry Donegan - 046 906 7337 - tdonegan@meathcoco.ie 
Offaly: Jean Brady - 086 791 2508 - jbrady@offalycoco.ie 
South Dublin: Lucy Cush - 01 414 9000 - lcush@sdublincoco.ie 
Wexford: Triona Shalloe - 053 919 6367 - triona.shalloe@wexfordcoco.ie 
Westmeath: Mary Duignan - 044 933 8921 - mary.duignan@westmeathcoco.ie
Wicklow: Clara Jenkinson - 0404 20100 - cjenkinson@wicklowcoco.ie 


Munster

Clare: James Murrighy - 087 962 7696 - James@claresports.ie 
Cork: Kate Feeney - 086 794 7923 - kfeeney@corksports.ie 
Kerry: Gearoid O'Doherty - 066 718 3680 - Gearoid.odoherty@kerrycoco.ie 
Limerick: Ellie Loftus - 061 333600 - eloftus@limericksports.ie 
Tipperary: Aoife Dunphy - 087 180 4191 - adunphy@tipperarysports.ie
Waterford: Pauline Casey - 086 789 7385 - pcasey@waterfordsportspartnership.ie 


Ulster

Cavan: Dean McElroy - 087 262 3956 - dmcelroy@cavancoco.ie 
Donegal: Therese Laverty - 074 911 6047 - sido@activedonegal.com 
Monaghan: Michelle Murphy - 042 536 459 - mmurphy@monaghancoco.ie 

Other Venues/Clubs

Portlaoise Panthers All Inclusive Team
Contact: Lynda Scully - 0851186119 - lyndascully@icloud.com 
Venue: St Marys Hall
Ability: Open to all - Age 12 & upwards

Eanna Basketball club
Contact: Paula Coghlan - pcoghlan@cheeverstown.ie 
Venue: Colaiste Eanna
Ability: Open to all - Age 10 and upwards

Kilkenny Star Basketball Club
Contact: Eithna Coogan - eithnacoogan@hotmail.com 
Venue: Loreto Kilkenny - 
Ability: Open to all

Success Stories

Camp of Champions x Carlow Sports Partnership - Inclusive basketball camp

Portlaoise Panthers inclusive basketball team

Inclusive Membership Registration

Click here for information on inclusive membership and registration