Nov 07 2023

55 players selected for Basketball Ireland U17 Academy Programme

A total of 55 players have been selected to participate in the Basketball Ireland U17 Academy Programme for the upcoming season.

The Basketball Ireland U17 Academy Programme serves as a bridge for boys and girls between U16 and U18 level, allowing them the chance to develop physically, while continuing to receive high level coaching and experience a high-performance environment.

It also keeps them engaged with the Basketball Ireland Player Pathway, with several players in recent years going on to represent Ireland at the FIBA U18 European Championships after a successful year in the system. Basketball Ireland’s Head of Development Ciaran O’Sullivan will oversee the delivery of the programme by a team of experienced coaches, Ciaran Kiveney, Jason Barry, Nollaig Cunningham and Elijah Faapito (U17 boys) and Martin McGettrick, Andy Gill and Ger Jago (U17 girls), with two more coaches to be added.

Basketball Ireland’s Academy Lead Martin McGettrick said: “The U17 Academy is constantly under review and therefore it’s an open-door squad. The coaches in the Basketball Ireland Academy Programme are continuously liaising with the Academy Leads in relation to players around the country. There are also a number of U17 players currently with the U18 squads and this reflects the number of players selected at the moment”.

Ireland U17 Women's Academy Selections

First Name Last Name Club  Province
Aisling Jordan Maree BC Connacht
Alanna Fennell Oblates BC Leinster
Cadla Dolan Ballyshannon 88ers Ulster
Caoimhe  Brophy Ballyroan Bluestars  Leinster
Ceolin Byrne Sligo All Stars Connacht
Chloe  Crean Malahide BC Leinster
Chloe  O'Driscoll Glanmire BC Munster
Clodagh Downey Brunell BC Munster
Farrah  Clack Dublin Raiders Leinster
Hannah  McGirr Belfast Star Ulster
Jessica Ross Maree BC Connacht
Kate Burke  Maree BC Connacht
Kayla McGonagle Liffey Celtics  Leinster
Lauren  Foy Ballyshannon 88ers Ulster
Layla Ryan Oblates BC Leinster
Lilli Hughes Douglas Panthers Munster
Lucy  Barry  Limerick Celtics  Munster
Lucy  O'Connor Tralee Magic Munster
Mary Kate Smith Glenbeigh Falcons Munster
Mia McEntee Dublin Raiders Leinster
Mia  Stanley Tolka Rovers BC Leinster
Rebecca  Cleary Templeogue BC Leinster
Sarah Power Killester BC Leinster
Sophie Staunton Oblates BC Leinster
Tara Grealy Meteors BC Leinster
Úna O'Brien Tullamore BC Leinster
Zoe Egan Malahide BC Leinster

Ireland U17 Men's Academy Selections

First Name Last Name Club Province
Aaron Mannion Athlone  Connacht
Adam  Kiwanuka Crosshaven  Munster
Artur Chololejenko Tolka rovers Leinster
Billy Bell Ballincollig  Munster
Cian  Walsh Moycullen Connacht
David Osagie Dundalk Ravens Leinster
Dylan O Rourke Neptune BC Munster
Eoin Cleary Moycullen BC Connaught
Finn Moran Baltinglass Bulldogs Leinster
Franciszek  Chmielecki Dundalk Ravens Leinster
Grantas  Piekus  North Atlantic Basketball Academy  Leinster
John Broderick Killester Leinster
Justin Raheem Neptune  Munster
Kareem Matonmi Baltinglass Bulldogs Leinster
Kirill Yakovlev Limerick Lions Munster
Lukas  Saltmeris Drogheda Wolves Leinster
Luke kavanagh Portlaoise Panthers Leinster
Marco Mendoza Dublin Sonics Leinster
Matiss Ogle BC Tauras Leinster
Molua Mac Seain Youghal Munster
Oisin O' Hanlon Ballincollig BC Munster
Orhi  Imbusch Limerick Celtics  Munster
Reilly  Cummerford Portlaoise Panthers Leinster
Rian Keaveney  Streete Warriors  Leinster
Ryan Bell Eanna Leinster
Stephan  Owede  Titans  Connacht
Theo Quinn Tolka Rovers Leinster
Valentino Edobor Titans  Connacht