Feb 23 2023

Heywood CS take home U19 'C' All-Ireland Schools League title with 63-39 defeat of St. Mary's College

Laois’ Heywood Community School stormed to the U19 ‘C’ Girls All-Ireland Schools League title, accounting for a dogged St. Marys Dundalk 63-39 at the National Basketball Arena.

Louise Doyle, Emma Carney and Faye McEvoy were almost unplayable at times, scoring 42 of their team’s 69 points on the day. St. Mary’s College Dundalk will look back on the opening quarter as the catalyst of their defeat. The 15-point lead built by Heywood CS too much to overcome in the remainder of the game.

The Laois school hit the ground running with a 9-0 run from the tip-off. Emma Carney, Faye McEvoy, Kaylee O’Keefe and Louise Doyle all making shots. Jessica Daly responded with St.Mary’s College Dundalk’s only score of the quarter, a fast break lay-up, to leave it 17-2 through the first.

St.Mary’s College more than held their own in the second quarter. Robyn Markey made two pressure shots from the mid-range, with Megan Gallagher also thinking quickly to capitalise on a Heywood turnover for her opening score. Philip Bowe’s side continued to make baskets with incredible accuracy though, Louise Doyle and an Emma Carney three-point shot ensuring they held a comfortable 36-14 advantage at the half.

Both teams maintained a good tempo as they re-emerged for the third. Emma Carney capped an impressive performance from beyond the arc by downing her third three of the game en-route to an 18 point total with 7:09 remaining. Jessica Daly responded in kind for St. Mary’s College to keep the scoreboard ticking. Further scores from Robyn Markey and Gallagher ensuring they would win the quarter 17-16. 

Heywood entered the last with a 21-point lead and despite all their endeavour, their opponents just couldn’t make their shots consistently in the face of some strong defence and it was Heywood Community School who ran out worthy winners. 

Quarter Scores:

Q1: 2-17 

Q2: 12-19

Q3: 17-16 

Q4: 8-11

Top Scorers:

St. Marys Dundalk: Anna Markey (19), Megan Gallagher (10), Jessica Daly (7)

Heywood CS: Emma Carney (18), Faye McEvoy (12), Louise Doyle (12) 

St. Marys Dundalk:

Elahna Faapito, Megan Gallagher, Anna Markey, Saoirse Martin, Esther Ayoade, Toni Olowookere, Sarah Ellis McAlester, Jessica Finnegan, Michelle Agbolade David, Jessica Daly, Robyn Markey, Isabelle McCabe

Coach: Niamh Burns

Ass. Coach: Teresa O’Neill

Heywood CS:

Faye McEvoy, Aoibhin Brophy, Ava Tynan, Louise Doyle, Kaylee O’Keeefe, Emma Carney, Clodagh Gee, Caoimhe Brophy, Carragh Concannon, Ella Kelly, Síofra Fitzpatrick, Katie Donoghue, Mary Lanigan, Leah Bergin

Coach: Philip Bowe 

Ass. Coach: N/A