Apr 20 2024

Summersgill leads BNAF to 82-54 victory over Galway in Men’s Over 50s Masters National Cup decider

Scottie Summersgill carded a huge haul of 33 points to help see BNAF Dublin to the Men’s Over 50s Masters National Cup at the expense of a gallant Galway outfit, whom they beat 82-54 in Saturday afternoon’s final in Neptune Stadium.

The game MVP was ruthless in attack for the champions, serving up impressive scores from both sides of the arc as they laid the groundwork for this emphatic win with a clinical first-quarter display.

 Scottie Summersgill presented with the MVP award

After BNAF’s Tony McDonagh and Galway’s Mike Lydon exchanged scores early on, it was the Dublin side who quickly exerted a tight grip on this contest, putting together an 11-point run that featured a bucket from Alan Fearon and some clinical free-throw shooting by Summersgill.

Galway did dig in, and a brace of three-pointers by Mike Murray, coupled with converted free throws by Dave McAndrew, closed the gap to three, only to see BNAF kick on again and storm into a 16-point advantage by the close of the first quarter.

Summersgill drained a nice three with Robert Temple and Ed Randolph adding to that score to leave the Dubliners well in control heading into the second period.

The two sides went toe-to-toe from there until the half-time recess, Murray accounting for eight of the 10 points that Galway put up over that 10-minute period.

 Galway Masters' Mike Murray and Ryan Mackelfresh of BNAF Dublin

But a further two efforts from beyond the arch by Summersgill helped see BNAF take a 19-point cushion into the second half, leaving their Connacht rivals with a mountain to climb upon their return to court.

And it was the Dubliners who made the brighter start to the second half, Summersgill draining two from the line before producing a nice layup to push his side’s lead out to 23.

But, credit to Galway, they continued to battle away with Dave McAndrew putting up a further six points, while Ronan Waters, Mike Lydon and Anthony McHale also got in for buckets.

 Dave McAndrew of Galway Masters

The Dubliners, however, were never going to let this one slip and powered over the finish line as Summersgill served up some more sublime shooting either side of the arc, while Fearon, Randolph and Temple also added to their tallies.


Quarter Scores: Q1: 14-30, Q2: 24-43, Q3: 38-60, Q4: 54-82

Galway Masters:

Kevin Gannon, Mike Murray, Harry Walsh, Dave McAndrew, Ronan Waters, Sinisa Malesevic, Mike Lydon, Anthony McHale.

Top Scorers: Mike Murray (18), Dave McAndrew (16), Mike Lydon (8).

BNAF Dublin:

Scottie Summersgill, Robert Temple, Alan Fearon, John Quigley, Mark Keenan, Tony McDonagh, Ed Randolph, Ryan Mackelfresh, Pat Collins, Jerome Westbrooks.

Top Scorers: Scottie Summersgill (33), Ed Randolph (12), Alan Fearon (10), Tony McDonagh (10).

MVP:  Scottie Summersgill (BNAF Dublin)