May 05 2022

All-Ireland 'B' Schools League winners decided

Following on from a successful opening day, four more categories were decided on Wednesday of All-Ireland Schools League final week. 

The morning kicked off with Coláiste Iosagain Portarlington regining supreme in the Junior 'B' boys category, overcoming St. Pat's of Navan. 

The junior and minor girls deciders went the way of teams from Cavan and Cork. 

Loreto Cavan just out lasted OLSPK Belfast in the junior contest by three points, 30-27. It was a similarly tight affair in the following game in the battle of St. Mary's schools. Mallow overcoming Naas to take the minor 'B' trophy back to the rebel county. 

The concluding fixture on Wednesday was a low scoring but entertaining meeting between Castleisland Community College and Knockbeg College. 

The Carlow school just pipping their Kerry opponents by two points. 

Final scores and stat lines: 

Junior 'B' Boys: 

St. Pats Navan 17 (7) - (Aran Carey 6, James Donnelly 4, Morgan Fitzsimmons/Donal Smyth both 3).

Colaiste Isoagain Portarlington 42 (16) - (Ultan Dunne 20, Ruairi Bourke 11, Samuel Emmanuel 6).

Junior 'B' Girls:

Loreto Cavan 30 (8) - (Katie Meara 12, Katie Fegan, Alice Rowley, Ruby Gilmartin all 6).

OLSPCK Belfast 27 (12) -  (Helen McGeough 9, Holly Donnelly 6, Lara McNicholl 5).

Minor 'B' Girls:

St. Marys Naas 35 (18) - (Emily Gallagher 12, Meridith Moore 8, Lexi Reddington 5).

St. Marys Mallow 39 (19) - (Sophie O’Keeffe 18, Anna O’Brien 8, Katie Mae O’Neill 5).

Minor 'B' Boys: 

Castleisland Community College  16 (6) - (Freddie Mahony 7, Kyle Buckley 6 and Conor Clifford 3). 

St. Marys Knockbeg College  18 (14) - (Aodhan Bergin 9, Matthew Durojaiye 6, Cormac McConnon, Will Craig both 2).